Friday, August 5, 2011

Types of seagulls

The name sea gull, or seagull, is not the exact name for any one type of bird. Sea gull is a broad term that people use to describe any one of 43 species of gull birds. The scientific classification for gulls is: Order - Charadriiformes, Family - Laridae, Subfamily - Larinae, Genus - Larus (Gulls). Three types of gulls of the 43 gull species are the California Gull, Herring Gull and the Kelp Gull.

While there are many different types of gulls, each having their own distinct characteristics, all gulls share certain traits. Gulls have webbed feet and long bills and wings. Size and colors vary among different types of gulls.

Courtesy of

No comments:

Post a Comment